Meet the New Information Technology Specialist Certification

We are thrilled to announce the newest program in our certification portfolio: The Information Technology Specialist program. The IT Specialist program is a way for students validate entry level IT skills sought after by employers.

The Information Technology Specialist program is aimed at candidates who are considering or just beginning a path to a career in information technology. Students can certify their knowledge in a broad range of IT topics:

  • Databases
  • Software Development
  • Networking
  • Network Security
  • JavaScript
  • Java
  • Python
  • HTML and CSS
  • HTML5 Application Development
  • Device Configuration and Management

“Demand for IT skills continues to rise. Some job titles, like software developer, for example, are expected to grow more than 30% over the next ten years. Earning Information Technology Specialist certifications will give students a competitive edge, demonstrating their knowledge and competencies in current technology. This validation will be a major asset as they transition to postsecondary education, internship opportunities, or full-time employment,” said Ray Murray, Vice-President of IT at Pearson VUE. “Everyone can benefit from IT knowledge, and the focus on STEAM education proves that educators want to prepare students with these relevant, workforce demanded skills.”

The Information Technology Specialist certification is aligned with Certiport’s “Learn, Practice, Certify” model. Courseware, practice tests and the certification exam will be offered through Certiport, starting July 2021. Exams will be available in Spanish, French, Arabic, Portuguese, and Chinese (Simplified). Select exams will also be available in Chinese (Traditional) and Japanese.

To learn more about the IT Specialist certification, please visit