What’s Changing with IC3 Digital Literacy?

Changes are coming, and we’re just too excited to keep them to ourselves. We’ve made major modifications to our IC3 Digital Literacy certification exams, and we’re excited to announce the launch of the Level 1 exam, available now (Level 2 and Level 3 exams will be available in October and December respectively)! Whether you’re already familiar with IC3 Digital Literacy, or you’re interested in getting started, we have all the answers about these new exams.

What is IC3 Digital Literacy?

IC3 Digital Literacy certification is created and distributed by Certiport, a Pearson VUE Business. The IC3 Digital Literacy program is dedicated to ensuring learners of all ages can not only navigate our digital world but thrive in it. IC3 Digital Literacy works closely with the Global Digital Literacy Council, an advisory body of industry executives, technology educators, and assessment professionals, to collect data from job markets, educational ministries, governmental agencies, and international standard setting bodies, to ensure IC3 Digital Literacy is always on the forefront of what it means to be digitally literate.

Over 5 million IC3 Digital Literacy exams have been distributed worldwide, and it’s currently available in 90 countries and 19 languages.

Why do students need a digital literacy certification?

According to Bala Ji Ganapathy, HR Head at Tata Consultancy Services, digital fluency is a requirement of 80% of current jobs. The world is becoming increasingly digital, and students and future professionals need a mastery of digital tools to be able to succeed. It’s like Satya Nadella, CEO of Microsoft, has said, “You look at marketing: Everything that’s happening in marketing is digitized. Everything that’s happening in Finance is digitized. Pretty much every industry, every function in every industry, has a huge element that’s driven by information technology. It’s no longer discrete.”

What’s changed with the IC3 Digital Literacy exams?

This is the big question we know you’re hoping we answer. Here are the major updates being made:

  • Exams needed for certification: In the past, candidates needed to take three IC3 Digital Literacy exams to earn one certification. This proved difficult for many, because that meant three appointments at testing centers, three classes, etc. to earn one certification. We incorporated your feedback and are excited about the new streamlined exams. There are still three exams in the IC3 Digital Literacy suite, but with each exam passed, a certification is granted.
  • Tiered difficulty: In the path of digital literacy, there are many levels. Some students have excellent mastery of basic technologies, while others are much less advanced. The new IC3 Digital Literacy exams are put together in a tiered structure, with increasing difficulty for each level. All three levels are comprehensive of all digital literacy domains, but the depth of knowledge required in each exam varies. Here are how the levels are classified:
    • Level 1: Digital literacy foundations
    • Level 2: Intermediate digital literacy knowledge
    • Level 3: Mastery of digital literacy skills
  • Objective Domain updates: We know that for a certification to be valuable in the marketplace, it must be based on current technologies. With that in mind, we’ve updated the IC3 Digital Literacy objectives. The following objectives are covered in all three of the new IC3 Digital Literacy exams:
    • Technology Basics
    • Digital Citizenship
    • Information Management
    • Content Creation
    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Safety and Security
      • The subdomains and topics covered vary in depth, depending on which level of exam the student is taking. You can see more details here .

Additional emphasis on cloud based and mobile applications: IC3 Digital Literacy wouldn’t be validating true 21st century skills without covering cloud-based technology and mobile applications. The new exams cover these topics in increased depth.

Are you ready to delve into the new IC3 Digital Literacy exams? Take the exam for a 10-question test drive here.